Covid-19 Lockdown Ireland – Day 2

Day 2

So. We had the chat. About the rules.

Leo Varadkar was the arsehole today, not me, a small victory, but I’ll take it!

Things rapidly went downhill when I told them they couldn’t hang out with friends or have friends over – Leo’s arseholery was short lived and I was back on my pedestal of ‘Worst Parent EVER’.

Lads, this is for all of us, if I get sick, I most likely wouldn’t survive it.

This was defeated with a lot of ‘you’re ruining my life’, ‘what if I shower when I come in like we had to do all week’, ‘you don’t care about my mental health’, ‘all the adults are just being selfish’

So I spent some time explaining Covid-19 – what it can do to someone who is vulnerable. This was met with wide eyed horror and a lot of reminders about the tubes and drains coming out of my body on Christmas Day when they came to visit me in hospital after the organ failure.

A lot of acceptance that this was something to try and avoid happening again.

My Ma dropped the baby off today, a big 2 years old and being looked after by Nana and Granda while I was in recovery

Her brother had had an accident and she needed to get off to help – so DeeDee is officially back home!

We needed some shopping, but after the madness of yesterday, we weren’t going to any of the supermarkets to happen upon the same craziness today. We drove out of town to Castlebridge and bought what we needed in the smaller store there. Cormac went in to get what we needed while myself and DeeDee sang renditions of ‘Row Row Row Your Boat’ on repeat.

I wouldn’t say they’ve reformed their opinions. I’ve zero doubt that we will be on a loop of arguments of ‘why can’t I?’ for the foreseeable

But – because they’ve been decent – I decide a KFC is in order as a treat – so we do the drive thru. I’m climbing up the ranks of acceptable parent.

Got a call from the mother to say my Uncle was transferred to hospital in poor condition and help was needed to move his van off the road – so I enlisted the help of a friend to go down to her

The kids are happy online gaming with friends, stuffed with KFC and DeeDee has found her place splashing about in the kitchen sink, the countertops and floors are saturated but she’s happy so I sit and watch, perusing the mess I’ll soon be cleaning once she’s done.

Get a call off the mother mid ‘ Row Row Row Your Boat’ – they’re testing the Uncle for Covid-19 – he’s very unwell – I’m advised to ring the friend I enlisted to help earlier with moving the Uncle’s van and advise them to self-isolate until the results come back from the Covid 19 test tomorrow

Call made – instructions given, half the family in quarantine – it’s going to be a long few weeks

I’m done with today.

 

44850622-6e63-4b08-be7d-58e3b2fabfcd

Leave a comment